The Whitehall Road Sessions

Thursday 29 April 2021 | Schubert Octet in F Major

In the second instalment of a weekly series of livestreamed concerts from Opera North's Whitehall Road rehearsal space, instrumentalists from the Orchestra of Opera North perform Schubert’s Octet, a chamber piece with orchestral ambition. Over the course of its six movements, intensely emotional passages give way to the joyous rhythms of folk dances and minuets.

Schubert wrote it between February and March 1824, an incredibly productive period – he was also working on the string quartets Rosamunde and Death and the Maiden – but also a time of great crisis, as the symptoms of his syphilis worsened. Perhaps it’s this combination of exuberant creativity and his growing awareness of mortality that gave rise to the Octet’s sudden, thrilling changes of mood.

From the Orchestra of Opera North:

Violin 1: Byron Parish

Violin 2: Catherine Landen

Viola: Anne Trygstad

Cello: Dan Bull

Bass: Genna Spinks

Clarinet: Andrew Mason

Bassoon: David Baker

Horn: John Pratt

Presenter: Kate Simms

Director: Richard Critchlow

Produced by Opera North and Dependable Productions


Schubert Octet in F Major